Everyone and his dog

Here in Toronto people love dogs. Stores have dog-friendly signs, water bowls or even treats for man’s best friend.

Image credit mydailyphonepic.blogspot.com
Image credit mydailyphonepic.blogspot.com

Couple of times I overheard “Oh, she is sooooo cute!”, followed by a proud “Thank you”.

When I turned around, I could see a tiny mutt or a groomed, ridiculous poodle. I am still wondering if the owner, who seemed to think it was normal to get credit for the dog’s looks, had actually given birth to the living being.

OK, maybe in the poodle case a human being was responsible for the perm. And the pink bows.

Based on the number of dogs around, I have to admit the city is fairly clean and people probably do pick up after their pets.

I however get annoyed when an unleashed, calf-looking creature runs towards me or one of the Dwarves (“No, honey, it is NOT a pony, you can NOT ride on it!”) and its owner just says “Oh, don’t worry, Splurge is very friendly”.

Well, thanks for letting me know, because if Splurge had decided to get an extra snack it would be a bit(e) late.

And I can see he is friendly, because he shared all his mud and a few smelly hairs with me (as a reminder, The Man is an avid jogger and can fulfill these tasks as well, I really don’t need Splurge to step in).

One thought on “Everyone and his dog

Leave a comment