You’ll take some more history?

The other day, I was queuing at a sport store cashier, when a quite elegant, obnoxious looking 50-something year-old man pointed out the logo displayed on my jacket.

– They do not carry this brand here.

– No, it’ a Swiss brand.

– Yes, yes, I know, and I know the country really well. I have been to Switzerland many times. And do you know the reason for this logo?

He got me interested there, and I was pretty sure I would learn something I could later brag about at various boring family dinners or in the dentist’s waiting room.

I admitted I did not know, eagerly waiting for his explanations.

Obnoxious man, in a patronizing tone:

– Because Napoleon crossed the Alps with elephants!

-…….Well,… this is a mammoth. I don’t think Napoleon showed up with any mammoths.

Mr. Obnoxious quickly left.

If I ever see him again, should I tell him it is actually Hannibal, about 2000 years earlier, who crossed the Alps with elephants?

Poor guy was not able to find any living mammoth either.

Mammut is a Swiss mountaineering and outdoor equipment manufacturer
Mammut is a Swiss mountaineering and outdoor equipment manufacturer.
2 thoughts on “You’ll take some more history?

Leave a Reply

